SeaKnots

Kevin and friends;
It's always good to meet other Catalina fanatics, although you can't swing an anchor in iny marina without hitting one. A testament to their popularity!
I've owned my Catalina 30 "Avalon" for about 4 years now, and have enjoyed sailng her on Lake Erie, over to Canada, and now in Charleston SC. I used to sail my Alden Malabar Jr. (30 ft.) in San Fransisco Bay, and it's certainly true what they say; if you can sail the bay you can sail anywhere!
A side note; does anyone know of places to get hardware specific to Catalinas? I had a heck of a time trying to replace my 1980 shifter/throttle levers. Ended up going to Kobelt Mfg. in Canada for about $700.00 new!
Good luck and Fair Winds,
Catalinapat

Views: 66

Replies to This Discussion

Hello Pat, and welcome!
I am brand new to sailing, and my boat (pictued on the group's photo) is a 1974 Catalina 27. She is not my first boat, though. I had bought a Hunter 27 Cherubini down in Long Beach California, and attempted to sail her to Vallejo California singlehanded, with only a first generation handheld GPS, a chart, a handheld radio, and a SPOT satelite messenger unit for instrumentation. I made it as far as Santa Barbara before my main halyard clasp came undone, causing the main to come crashing down. I made the decision to put in at Santa Barbara to repair the problem (good choice) at night (BAD choice) and ran aground. I lost my rudder and bent the prop, shaft, and broke the support strut. The insurance company totaled her, and so now I have my Catalina. This boat is MUCH better equipped (radar, depthmeter, knotmeter, installed VHF, solar charger, AM/FM/CD, color tv, etc). I am happy with the Catalina so far, but as my outboard died on me, Ihaven't sailed her yet (that is coming up the week after Father's Day, when I pick up the motor). I am especially anxious to try out the roller furling, and seeing how nice it will be to have al the lines led aft! I will keep you posted on my sailing adventu